A beginning…

“And suddenly you know: It’s time to start something new and trust the magic of beginnings”

  Meister Eckhart

“Everything starts somewhere, though many physicists disagree. But people have always been dimly aware of the problem with the start of things. they wonder how the snowplough driver gets to work, or how the makers of dictionaries look up the spelling of words.”

Terry Pratchett

 

I like that quote by Eckhart; beginnings do have a magic all their own. But I also like Pratchett’s thoughts. Once you decide to begin, how do you go about it? So here I am at the beginning of a new adventure. I have thought about blogging for a long time, and like so many other things I have talked myself out of it. But today was the day of “…suddenly you know…” and I decided to trust the magic. No doubt there will be many days of wondering “…how to look up the spelling of words…” but for now it’s mostly about navigating my way around the technology of the process. I have already endured being laughed at by one of my tech savvy sons for my lack of smarts. “That’s internet 101!” he quipped, at my inability to do something apparently simple- and I have been using the internet for years! I feel overwhelmed at the thought of all I may yet need to learn, and all the mistakes I will no doubt make. Maybe no-one will read these scribbles, but I believe this endeavour will have its own rewards for me. I love words; I love the way they look, and I love the way they sound. I love the smell of books and the rustle of pages. Books and, especially recently, the process of writing have been powerful agents in my own journey toward growth, change and wholeness. So here in this little space I will be sharing my thoughts and experiences on my days.  Here goes…

2 thoughts on “A beginning…

  1. So very true my dearest sister! I love the idea of blogging so kudos to you for starting this, I really look forward to reading more!

    Like

  2. your opening line below the picture – ‘reflections on the journey home’ reminds me of one of my current favourite quotes ” we are all just walking each other home” ( author unknown) I love that quote because it gets me to ponder what that means , what kind of conversations help us to walk home, what kind of acts? what courage, forgiveness, love, creativity, compassion and what else…. is needed to walk each other home.

    Like

Leave a Reply

