A Prayer Answered

I read this in Genesis:

The LORD said to Isaac, ‘Do not go down to Egypt. Live in the land where I tell you to live. Stay in this land for  while, and I will be with you and I will bless you.’

 

I felt those words were meant for me. I felt those words were speaking to that place of yearning, that place of not enough. Stay here, right where I have you, I heard God saying. Be grateful for what I have already given you, I heard him say. Live in this land, and I will be with you.

I knew those words were for me, but I didn’t like them. Frustrated with the fact that I’d felt stuck in the same land for a good long time, I was eager to move on to what I thought were bigger and better things. I was ready to do more with the gifts and tools God has given me. But he said no. God said stay.

Michelle DeRusha.

cairn for garden - Copy

This morning I prayed a prayer full of frustration and questioning. The words above arrived in my inbox a few hours later. An answer and an encouragement. I hope you find them as helpful as I did.

Leave a Reply

