A New Boat

little boat (2)

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbour. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.

I’ve always liked this quote (frequently misattributed to Mark Twain, actually said by H. Jackson Brown’s mother). It stirs the adventurer in me and makes me want to go out and do Big Things. Unfortunately my natural uncertainty, and a tendency to question my intuition and ideas, has often stood in the way. This has changed over the last couple of years, and I’ve found myself trying all sorts of things. It’s been at times terrifying, and at times exhilarating. I’ve made some mistakes (lots of mistakes) but discovered that I am much stronger, more creative and a lot braver than I thought.

On Saturday Lisa Steyn and I will be doing a storytime launch of our children’s book, Granny’s Butterflies, at The Book lounge. (You can purchase the e-book on Amazon here.) We’ll be doing a reading of the story, and the book will be available to buy. There’ll also be a simple craft activity and snacks on sale. This is definitely one of those throwing away the bowlines moments. Part of me feels like running away, but another part of me is excited and looking forward to the day.

I came across this poem by Mary Oliver a few weeks ago, and it made me think. I’ve always been someone who loves order, structure and calm. I am learning that I need to live my life in a way that honours my essential need for ‘days that rhyme‘. But there is much I cannot control, and sometimes leaps of faith lead to unpredictable outcomes. I am beginning to appreciate that this can be good for me.

If I Wanted a Boat

I would want a boat, if I wanted a

boat, that bounded hard on the waves,

that didn’t know starboard from port

and wouldn’t learn, that welcomed

dolphins and headed straight for the

whales, that, when rocks were close,

would slide in for a touch or two,

that wouldn’t keep land in sight and

went fast, that leaped into the spray.

What kind of life is it always to plan

and do, to promise and finish, to wish

for the near and the safe? Yes, by the 

heavens, if I wanted a boat I would want

a boat I couldn’t steer.

Mary Oliver

Leave a Reply

